W14: Resilient High-Precision Positioning, Navigation and Guidance of Autonomous Vehicles

Workshop Overview

Autonomous and highly automated vehicles (AVs) promise to enhance safety, reduce emissions, and improve transportation system efficiency and reliability. The growing demand for AVs is shaping the future of the automotive industry by transforming the in-vehicle experience and paving the way for large-scale implementation of autonomous and assisted driving. This workshop explores new technologies for resilient, high-precision positioning and navigation for safety-critical applications that expand the present GNSS technologies and enable the processing of a broader range of complementary sensors, wireless communication technologies and satellite-based navigation systems on a single platform.

Future AVs’ positioning, guidance, and control technologies are rapidly advancing. They require onboard intelligence relying on a suite of sensors and systems such as global navigation satellite systems (GNSS) receivers, mmWave wireless technology (5G/6G), vehicle motion sensors and remote sensing systems including cameras, light detection and ranging (LiDAR) and radar. AVs that can sense the environment and navigate without human input require robust advanced positioning, navigation, and guidance for efficient operation in all environments and weather conditions. The availability of the above sensors and systems in future AVs provides an attractive opportunity to advance the robustness and safety of autonomous driving. This workshop welcomes original contributions discussing new methods mitigating GNSS vulnerabilities to push the boundaries of resilient navigation and exploring innovative capabilities toward non-GNSS-based PNT solutions and how they can augment or replace GNSS. This workshop will also seek original contributions covering advanced topics related to the state of the art and future trends of positioning and mapping as well as control and guidance technologies for autonomous vehicles and future self-driving. 

Workshop Theme

  • GNSS based high precision positioning in challenging urban environments.
  • Alternative AV navigation technologies, including image and terrain-based navigation.
  • GNSS vulnerability analysis and mitigation, GNSS anti-jamming and anti-spoofing methods.
  • PNT technologies based on Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite constellations and 5G/6G mmWave wireless positioning for high precision positioning.
  • New wireless technologies and methods for AV connectivity, cooperative perception, positioning, and path planning and LTE/5G-based assisted GNSS technologies.
  • Recent technical advances in perception systems meeting the growing AV demands. 
  • Advanced AI-based multi-system fusion for positioning, mapping, and guidance. 
  • Machine-learning based object identification, classification, and mapping.
  • Innovative simultaneous Localization and mapping (SLAM).
  • Multi-agent communication and cooperation schemes for multiple AVs.
  • Multi-modal sensing.
  • AI-based interpretation of the surrounding environment based on multi-sensor data.
  • Real-time semantic segmentation of point clouds and images
  • Innovations in other autonomous systems (UAVs, UGVs, and drones) and applications of AVs.

Workshop Chairs

Aboelmagd Noureldin

Professor, Queen’s University / RMC, Kingston, Ontario, Canada Aboelmagd.noureldin@queensu.ca

Andrea Masiero

Professor, University of Padua, and CIRGEO, Padova, Italy andrea.masiero@unipd.it

Sidney Givigi

Professor, Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario,Canada.
Sidney.Givigi@queensu.ca

Charles K Toth

Professor, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA.
toth.2@osu.edu

Haidy Elghamrawy

Assistant Professor, RMC,Kingston, Ontario, Canada.
haidy.elghamrawy@rmc.ca

Scientific Committee

  • Fabio Remondino, Professor, FBK, Italy, remondino@fbk.eu
  • Sunil Bisnath, Professor, York University, Toronto, Ontario, Canada,sbisnath@yorku.ca
  • Yang Gao Professor, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, ygao@ucalgary.ca
  • Ahmed El-Rabbnay, Professor, Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU), Toronto, Ontario, Canada, rabbany@torontomu.ca
  • Mohamed Tamazin, Senior GNSS Architect, Safran Navigation and Timing, Mohamed.Tamazin@orolia.com
  • Paul Hershey, Principal Engineering Fellow, Raytheon, USA, paul_c_hershey@raytheon.com
  • Caroline Channel, Professor, ISAE-Supaero, France, caroline.chanel@isae-supaero.fr
  • Ashraf Abosekeen, Assistant Professor, Military Technical College, Cairo, Egypt, ashraf.abosekeen@mtc.edu.eg
  • Umar Iqbal, Associate Professor, Mississippi State University, USA, umar@ece.msstate.edu
  • Amr Elwakeel, Assistant Professor, University of Western Virginia, USA, amr.elwakeel@mail.wvu.edu
  • Peter Travis Jardine, Adjunct Professor, Royal Military College of Canada, ON, Canada, peter.jardine@rmc.ca
  • Tashfeen Karamat, Assistant Professor, Carleton University, Ottawa, ON, Canada, TashfeenKaramat@cunet.carleton.ca

ABOUT GSW

The ISPRS Geospatial Week (GSW) is a combination of workshops organised by about 30 ISPRS Working Groups active in areas of interest of ISPRS.

ABOUT MBRSC

The Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre (MBRSC) is a Dubai Government entity which aims to promote scientific innovation and technological advancement in the UAE.

CONTACT US

Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Centre (MBRSC)
Al Khawaneej Area
P.O.Box: 211833
UAE, DUBAI
Phone : +971-4-6071200
Email: Suport@gsw2025.ae

© Copyright GSW2025, All Right Reserved